WALK TOWARDS NORTH

Archive for December 17, 2005

‘MISERY’

Long time no come! For days long, I found myself had nothing to say about my life. During these ten days, I received my GRE score report, which certainly was really terrible. Actually, it was on the day that I was expecting to receive the package from Mama bringing me what I need in winter: my scarves and down jacketSometimes, good news and bad news will come together and we thank God that he is so fair to every one of us.

And then, days passed by with nothing happened at all except Minnow bought new unit computer and yesterday she finally composed them together.  

Yesterday afternoon, Bear, Kangkang and Momo went to Xixi wet land to enjoy life, leaving me along as a lonely ghost who enjoyed thinking about where they’d been. When at last Bear told me that she was in the wet land, I was shocked for her quick decision.

For days, dreams disturbed my sleep. I felt dozy at daytime and felt clear in dreams. So was the situation last night. Hence in today’s morning, when Vegetable knocked on our door, we were all still in bed including the one who usually wake up much earlier than I do, Bear! It is said that the reasons why people can not sleep should be attributed to the too cold or too hot room. Thus, I just wonder if I need another quilt.

I watched the movie ‘Misery’ yesterday, a movie about a miserable experience of a famous novelist directed by Rob Reiner. The story was like this: this novelist who wrote a series of stories about Misery, a girl’s name had an accident on his way to his manager after he finished anther novel. However, the one who saved his life kidnapped him in her house to force him to write back Misery who had been already dead in the last book of the series. Why I would like to watch such a movie in the early 1990’s was that I found the original work was written by Steven King, a famous writer who was good at horrible stories such as Shining. Shining, in my point of view was the most horrible one of all the American horrible movies. I had thought about how much blood I would see in ‘Misery’, but there was very little there. The only scaring scenes were that Anne stroke the novelist’s ankles to make him unable to escape and finish the novel of the revival of Misery and she shot the poor old police.

Steven King’s stories, so far as I see, are not that merited. Despite all the deliberate horrible spots, the only thing I see in them to be attractive is that there are always good ones, innocent ones killed. Such as the old police in ‘Misery’, the black manager in ‘Shining’ and the Father in another horrible novel of him whose name I forget. Actually, it is really an outdated means to write supporting roles to die to set off the hero, even it was before the time of early 1990’s. But this is how real life looks like. The only difference between the result of good supporting roles in King’s stories and that of reality is that the survival decides the heroes of the real world, whereas the heroes in stories have the right to survive. Steven at last can be considered as a brilliant novelist as he taught us about the real world in such a subtle way.

 
To much has been said with no one title of them. As there have been no too much of joy of the recent days, Misery may be not too unproper.
 
P.S.  Spending lots of time to do exercises preparing TOEFL, I saw anything but progress. But before the last second, I have no reason to forsake. Having experienced disappointment, I can just try what I can do.